Birmingham is the most underappreciated city in the UK

The Ordinary Man
5 min readJul 23, 2024

3 months ago I made the move to Birmingham, UK to escape the hillbilly hellscape that is Gloucestershire, and it was the best thing I’ve ever done. I have moved around the UK a lot over the last 5 years and I’ve hated a good portion of places I’ve been. But I’ve finally found a place where I think I can live for the long term.

When people speak about Birmingham they’ll tell you about how shit it is and how it’s depressing, but I’ve always thought that description was harsh, especially when you consider the rest of the country.

I feel like most British people aren’t aware of what this country is actually like as people just make shit up when you ask them. Instead of just visiting these places they believe stereotypes and spread them around. If a British person tells you what a place is like, always ask them if they’ve been.

Birmingham isn’t perfect, but fuck me it’s better than 99% of other shitholes in this country, and it’s by far and away the second-best city I’ve been to in the UK after London. I don’t even care about London, I just say it’s the best because it’s a global city whilst Birmingham is a second city.

I feel like I have to say that whilst I see people walking down the street looking depressed every time I go.

“Birmingham is shit”

--

--

The Ordinary Man

Money, health, relationships & self-mastery. It's an adventure.