How what you wear changes how you’re treated when you’re black

The Ordinary Man
4 min readMay 1, 2023

When you’re black you learn a lot about people especially if you dare to do anything with your life. It’s impossible not to, you need to know why people react to you in certain ways in certain situations, if you don’t then you’ll never go anywhere.

Everything affects how you’re treated, especially how you look. Most people judge others based on looks using stereotypes and because of that, you need to watch what you wear when you’re black.

It’s not all doom and gloom, you can have some fun with it and scare white people when you’re bored by wearing a durag.

“He thinks he’s well hard”.

No, I just want waves.

Wearing my puffer coat

A puffer coat is no big deal, it’s a coat that you wear when it’s cold. But when you’re black and wear a coat like this then people see you as a roadman, no matter what situation you’re in.

If I wear my puffer coat to work then I’ll be stared at by all the white people, they think a hood killer has just walked in. It’s because black people in coats like this are associated with the streets even though white people often wear them too.

People will assume that I’m trying to play gangster just because of the coat I choose. A…

--

--

The Ordinary Man

Money, health, relationships & self-mastery. It's an adventure.